St David’s Day; Reffing in Welsh

As you may have noticed I’ve started taking refereeing fencing matches a lot more seriously than I have in the past. Today I was in Cardiff for the British Youth Foil Qualifiers refereeing a large number of foil bouts. That said the curious part of me couldn’t help but wonder if it’s possible to ref in my first language of Welsh. Don’t get me wrong I’m not certain how applicable this will be as unfortunately I can only count the number of fluent Welsh speaking fencers with two hands, and that’s only just. I’m not an expecting an Eic Davies style revolution, the man who translated rugby terms into Welsh and the father of ex-rugby commentator Huw Llywelyn Davies. But being a patriotic Welshman I can’t help but see if I can, in some way, promote the Welsh language for the very same reason I write these blogs in Welsh. Truth be told this wouldn’t be the first time I’ve attempted to referee in Welsh. While I was studying at Bangor I attempted to referee a fencing match between two Welsh language speakers although that was more of an off the cuff affair. I’d also like to make it clear that I’m not a Welsh language academic so don’t expect everything to be 100% perfect. And like the English language I’m going to have to adopt a few terms, so without further ado here goes;

DYYG S

Leave a Reply

